Visit our COVID-19 Information pages for details regarding the coronavirus as it relates to the Chickasaw Nation.


“Lighthorse” is an historic name given by the Chickasaw, Choctaw, Cherokee, Muscogee (Creek) and Seminole Nations, often referred to collectively as the Five Civilized Tribes, to their mounted police force. Once removed to Indian Territory, the Five Civilized Tribes created the elite Lighthorse police to serve and protect their citizens.

The Chickasaw Nation Lighthorse Police Department (LPD) was re-established in 2004. Before this, law enforcement duties for the community were performed by the Bureau of Indian Affairs.

Lighthorse officers help uphold the Chickasaw Code, regulations and laws vital to the day-to-day function of our tribal government. 


The Chickasaw Lighthorse Police Department uses innovative methods and state-of-the-art technology to provide exceptional law enforcement services to the Chickasaw Nation jurisdiction.


The Lighthorse Police Department commits to the following values:

  • Provide the highest quality of professional law enforcement services to the community with the goal of enhancing the quality of life within the Chickasaw Nation.
  • Work in partnership with the community to identify and resolve issues which impact public safety.
  • Empower citizens of the Chickasaw Nation and the community to resolve problems by creating an environment that encourages solutions addressing the needs of the community.
  • Nurture the public trust by being accountable to the highest standards of professionalism and ethics.
  • Respect individual rights, human dignity and the values of all members of the community and the department.


Jurisdictional territory includes 7,648 square miles and encompasses 13 counties: Bryan, Carter, Coal, Garvin, Grady, Jefferson, Johnston, Love, Marshall, McClain, Murray, Pontotoc and Stephens Counties. The LPD is divided into three precincts: WinStar, Ada and Newcastle, where 66 full-time sworn law enforcement officers serve the Chickasaw Nation.