Visit our COVID-19 Information pages for details regarding the coronavirus as it relates to the Chickasaw Nation.
News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: October 04, 2006
by Kerri McDonald

On Monday, October 2 Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby had the privilege of crowning the newest members of Chickasaw royalty at the annual Chickasaw Princess Pageant at the Ada (Okla.) Cougar Activity Center.

Eleven total contestants were judged on written essay, interviewing skills, traditional Chickasaw dress, random questioning, talent and poise. The winners chosen to serve in 2006-2007 were Chickasaw Princess Monica Seawright, 19, Chickasaw Junior Princess Nacobi Walker, 14, and Little Miss Chickasaw Caitlynn Sparlin, 7.

“It is always exciting to see such talented and intelligent young Chickasaw women compete for this honor,” said Governor Bill Anoatubby. “We know that these young ladies will proudly serve as ambassadors for the Chickasaw people.”

The new princesses will spend the next year making more than 40 appearances on behalf of the Chickasaw Nation traveling across Oklahoma and several other states.

Chickasaw Princess Monica Seawright, daughter of Anita and Wilson Seawright, is a sophomore at Oklahoma State University in Stillwater, Oklahoma majoring in business.

“Becoming the next Chickasaw Princess will be a privilege,” Seawright said. “I will represent the Chickasaw Nation with pride and willingness to carry out all my duties to the best of my ability. I am proud of who I am and I want others to know it.”

Chickasaw Junior Princess Nacobi Walker, a freshman at Ada Junior High School, is the daughter of Darrell and Johnna Walker.

“As Chickasaw Junior Princess,” stated Walker, “I would like to learn more about my culture, further my dreams and be a role model for girls younger and older who wish to become an ambassador for the great ‘Unconquered and Unconquerable’ Chickasaw Nation.”

Little Miss Chickasaw Caitlynn Sparlin, daughter of Joseph Sparlin II and Clarice Shirley-Monetathchi, is a second grade student at Tishomingo Elementary School.

“I will be proud to represent my tribe,” Sparlin stated. “I would like to meet new people and try new things.”

Governor Anoatubby awarded each princess winner with a crown, traditional dress, shawl, sash, trophy, gifts and cash prizes.

During the pageant ceremony, a special tribute was paid to the princesses completing their reigns as Chickasaw royalty for 2005-2006. The outgoing princesses included Chickasaw Princess Tamela Alexander, Junior Chickasaw Princess Jaisen Monetathchi and Little Miss Chickasaw Halley Taylor.

Other candidates in this year’s pageant included Jessie Miller, Catie Newport, Pakanli Ramsey, Faithlyn Seawright, Kacie Seeley, Adreanna Underhill, Alexis Walker and Ryan.