News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: October 03, 2017

by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

  • From left, Chickasaw legislators Connie Barker, J. Lisa Impson, Steven Woods, Karen Goodnight and Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court Justice Cheri L. Bellefeuille-Gordon were sworn into office during the Oath of Office ceremony conducted Oct. 2 in Ada, Okla.

ADA, Okla. –Five Chickasaw Nation officials elected during the July 25 general election were sworn into office Monday, Oct. 2, at the Chickasaw Nation Community Center.

Four legislators and one tribal Supreme Court Justice took the oath of office, which was administered by Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court Chief Justice Linda English Weeks.

Incumbent legislators Connie Barker and Steven Woods reaffirmed their oath of office, while newly elected legislators J. Lisa Impson and Karen Goodnight took the oath of office for the legislative branch.

Supreme Court Justice Cheri L. Bellefeuille-Gordon was also sworn into office during the ceremony.

Mrs. Goodnight, of Goldsby, will represent Pontotoc District, Seat 4 and Ms. Impson, of Ada, will represent Pontotoc District Seat 3.

Mrs. Barker, of Marietta, was reaffirmed to Pickens District Seat 2, and Mr. Woods, of Davis, will continue to represent Tishomingo District Seat 3.

Justice Bellefeuille-Gordon, Sulphur, was reaffirmed to Seat 3 on the court during the ceremony.

Chickasaw Legislators and Supreme Court Justices serve a three-year term.

The Chickasaw Nation Legislature is comprised of 13 members, elected from the Chickasaw Nation’s four legislative districts: Panola, Pickens, Pontotoc and Tishomingo.

Last Updated: 09/16/2016