Visit our COVID-19 Information pages for details regarding the coronavirus as it relates to the Chickasaw Nation.
News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: October 01, 2021
by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

ADA, Oklahoma – Five Chickasaw Nation officials elected during the Aug. 3 general election were sworn into office Friday, Oct. 1. Responsible distancing guidelines were followed during the ceremony which was live streamed nationwide.

Four legislators and one tribal Supreme Court Justice took the oath of office, which was administered by Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Colbert.

Legislators Toby Perkins, Ada; Nancy Elliott, Ada; Shana Tate Hammond, Ardmore; David Woerz, Ardmore; and Scott Wood, Tishomingo, reaffirmed their oath of office.

Supreme Court Justice Linda English Weeks, Newcastle, was also sworn into office during the ceremony.

Chickasaw Legislators and Supreme Court Justices serve a three-year term.

The Chickasaw Nation Legislature is comprised of 13 members, elected from the Chickasaw Nation’s four legislative districts: Panola, Pickens, Pontotoc and Tishomingo.

The Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court consists of three Supreme Court Justices elected by Chickasaw citizens.

Visit to view the Oath of Office ceremony, a wide-variety of cultural classes and demonstrations, history and award presentations and the Chickasaw Nation Annual Meeting, featuring Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby’s State of the Nation address, Oct. 2.