News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: May 24, 2017

by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

Fifty-two students graduated from the Chickasaw Nation Head Start program Wednesday, May 17, in Ardmore. Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby presented each child with a diploma during the ceremony.

Gov. Anoatubby said early childhood education is one of the most important early stepping stones for student success.

“Early Childhood education is one of the best investments we can make in the future success of our children. It helps provide the positive early experiences that deeply affect future cognitive, emotional and social development,” said Gov. Anoatubby. “This learning environment offers the tools students need and helps engage the entire family in the educational experience.”

Chickasaw Princesses Julie Underwood, Keilyn “KeKe” Factor and LaKala Orphan, along with tribal officials also attended the graduation ceremony.

Front Row (l to r): Executive Officer of Education Danny Wells, Governor Bill Anoatubby, Marko Coronado, Josalyn Horton, Ashtin Dixon, AnnaBella Lee, Ziva Lewis, Brandon Sampson, Zhadyn Anderson, Talyn Tom, Baylor Richards, Johnny Blalock, Mikiyah Christie, Yoselin Moreno, Brentli Arnold and Amya James.

Row 2: (l to r): Director of Early Childhood Robert Pickens, Secretary of Community Services Wayne Scribner, Kaidyn Whitaker, Lani Owen, Odalys Hernandez, Jordan Tudor, Isabella Rodriguez, Khalaya Wright, Samuel Gonzalez, Ja’Marya’ Gilbert, Rikki Sloan, Mallory Lampkin, Jazzlyn Sykes, Maria Molina, Little Miss Chickasaw LaKala Orphan, Chickasaw Junior Princess Keilyn “KeKe” Factor and Lt. Governor Jefferson Keel.

Row 3 (l to r): Mae’ven Dowdy, Xavier Banks, Audrey Rhynes, Zuri Williamson, Maria Houston, Kyran Raymond, Rylan Sparks, Luis Alvarez, Dominic Moreno, Grasyn Watkins and Chickasaw Princess Julie Underwood.

Back Row (l to r): Carveon Knight, Braxxton Minyen, E’zion Williams-Murph, Meeko Harjochee, Kayson Bruce, Leelyn Farve, Rhylee Johnson, Emberlie Wells, Logan Purcell, Jesse Rodriguez, Marcus Hernandez, Cherish Dinwiddie and Korbin Blanton.

Not pictured: Caedan Sampson, Kamren Johnson and Jayden Wallace.

Photo contributed by: Mike Scott

Last Updated: 09/16/2016