Visit our COVID-19 Information pages for details regarding the coronavirus as it relates to the Chickasaw Nation.
News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: July 31, 2007
by Tony Choate

On Wednesday, the Chickasaw Nation Election Commission announced results of the July 31 Chickasaw Nation election.

All incumbents on the ballot were reelected.

Pontotoc District Seat 5 incumbent Mary Jo Green won reelection with more than 72 percent of the vote.

Ms. Green received 2,053 votes. Challenger Jeannie Coplin received 540 votes and third place finisher James Page received 236 votes.

Incumbent Linda Briggs received 1, 173 votes to win reelection to Pickens District Seat 3. Challenger Wilson Seawright received 900 votes.

Incumbent Beth Alexander won Panola District Seat 1. Ms. Alexander received 336 votes, while challenger Beryl F. Sears received 281 votes.

Tishomingo District Seat 2 incumbent Timothy K. Colbert won reelection. No challengers filed for this seat.

Incumbent Governor Bill Anoatubby and Lieutenant Governor Jefferson Keel were reelected without challenge.

Chickasaw Nation Supreme Court Seat 1 incumbent Mark Holmes Colbert also won reelection without challenge.

Candidates who did not receive a challenger are elected by a one vote margin. The act of filing for office is counted as an affirmative vote.

The Chickasaw Nation Election Commission conducted and supervised the ballot counting at the Chickasaw Community Center in Ada on July 31, 2007 beginning at 11:00 a.m.

Election winners will be sworn into office 11 a.m. Monday, Oct. 1 in the large conference room of Chickasaw Nation Headquarters, 520 East Arlington, Ada.

For information, contact Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder at (580) 310-6475.