News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: July 30, 2019

by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

  • Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby

  • Lt. Governor-elect Chris Anoatubby

  • Derrick Priddy

  • Bradley Steven Woods

  • Linda Briggs

  • Lisa Johnson-Billy

  • Beth Alexander

  • Mark Colbert

Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced results of the July 30, 2019, general election.

A runoff election for Tishomingo District Seat 2 will be scheduled between Derrick Priddy, Sulphur, who received 649 votes, and Bradley Steven Woods, Sulphur, who received 519 votes. The winner of the runoff election will fill the vacant seat resulting from the retirement of Tim Colbert, of Sulphur.

Candidates Scott Clark of Mill Creek and Robert Kelly Tucker of Sulphur received 251 and 201 votes, respectively.

Pickens District Seat 3 incumbent Linda Briggs, Marietta, received 1,735 votes to defeat challenger Michael T. Watson of Ardmore, who received 622 votes.

Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby will remain in office for another four-year term.

Governor Anoatubby and Lt. Governor-elect Chris Anoatubby were officially elected by a one-vote margin when no challengers had filed at the close of the election filing period June 5.

Pontotoc District Seat 5 incumbent legislator Lisa Johnson Billy, Lindsay, will retain her seat as no challengers filed for the position.

Panola District Seat 1 incumbent Beth Alexander, Hendrix, will also retain her seat as no challengers filed for the position.

Supreme Court Seat 1 incumbent Mark Colbert, Ardmore, received no challengers and will retain his position.

Elected officials will take the oath of office Tuesday, Oct. 1.

For more information, contact Ms. Loder at (580) 310-6475 or 888-661-0137.


Tishomingo District
Seat 2 Runoff election – Derrick Priddy of Sulphur – 649 votes
Seat 2 Runoff election – Bradley Steven Woods – 519 votes

Pickens District
Seat 1 Linda Briggs – Incumbent – 1,735 votes – winner
Seat 1 Michael T. Watson of Ardmore – 622 votes

Pontotoc District
Seat 5 Lisa Johnson Billy of Lindsay– no challenger – reelected

Panola District
Seat 1 Beth Alexander, Hendrix, – no challenger – reelected

Supreme Court:
Seat 1 Mark Colbert, Ardmore – no challenger – reelected