Visit our COVID-19 Information pages for details regarding the coronavirus as it relates to the Chickasaw Nation.
News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: July 05, 2007

by Tony Choate

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2006 Chickasaw Nation Heritage Preservation Awards for authors documenting Chickasaw history and culture.

Authors of books, doctoral dissertations, master’s theses and articles dealing with some aspect of Chickasaw heritage published in 2006 or 2007 may be eligible for awards ranging up to $5,000.

"This awards program is designed to encourage and inspire authors to expand the scope of knowledge of our tribe’s history, heritage and culture," said Chickasaw Nation Governor Bill Anoatubby.

Gov. Anoatubby worked with Oklahoma Historical Society executive director Dr. Bob Blackburn and Dr. Paul Lambert, former historian-in-residence and executive director of the Oklahoma Heritage Association, to establish the program.

A $5,000 award will be presented for best book, $4,000 for best doctoral dissertation, $2,000 for best master’s thesis and $1,000 for best article.

Cash awards and commemorative plaques are scheduled to be presented to winners during the Chickasaw Annual Meeting Arts and Culture Awards Ceremony.

To be eligible for consideration, published works in each category must deal specifically with some aspect of Chickasaw Heritage, including history, customs, traditions, visual and/or performing arts. Moreover, the works must be documented, either through the use of footnotes, endnotes or a listing of sources.

Books from any press, dissertations and theses from any accredited institution of higher learning, and articles from any periodical publication shall be considered providing that they meet the eligibility requirements outlined in the previous paragraph.

Nominations must include five copies of the book, dissertation, thesis, or article being nominated.

Entries should be submitted to:

Dr. Amanda Cobb-Greetham, Administrator of Division of History, Research, and Scholarship
520 East Arlington
Ada, Okla. 74820

Deadline for receipt of nominations is 5 p.m. Friday, August 24, 2007.

For information, call (580) 436-7265.