News > Press Releases > Press Release

Press Release

Release Date: June 08, 2017

by Chickasaw Nation Media Relations Office

Chickasaw Nation Election Secretary Rita Loder announced today the candidates seeking four legislative seats and one judicial seat within the Chickasaw Nation. The filing period closed at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday, June 7, 2017.

Incumbent Supreme Court Justice Cheri L. Bellefeuille-Gordon of Sulphur was unchallenged and will retain Seat 3 on the court.

Pontotoc District Seat 4 will be filled by Karen Goodnight of Goldsby, as she was unchallenged for the seat.

J. Lisa Impson of Ada and Kymberly Hazlett of Purcell filed for Pontotoc District Seat 3.

Pickens District Seat 2 incumbent legislator Connie Barker of Marietta will face challenger Michael Thomas Watson of Ardmore.

Incumbent legislator Steven Woods of Davis will retain Tishomingo District Seat 3 as no challengers filed for the position.

Voter registration closes July 5.

Registered Chickasaw voters will vote by mail ballots, with ballots being mailed to registered Chickasaw voters July 6, 2017.

Ballots must be returned to the Chickasaw Nation Election Commission no later than 10:30 a.m. July 25, 2017.  No hand delivered ballots will be accepted.

The Chickasaw Nation Election Commission shall conduct and supervise the ballot counting beginning at 11 a.m. July 25, 2017, at the Chickasaw Community Center in Ada. Results of the elections shall be announced the same day.                                                                              

For more information, contact Ms. Loder at (580) 310-6475.

Candidates filing are as follows:


Pontotoc District

Seat 3              J. Lisa Impson, Ada

Seat 3              Kymberly Hazlett, Purcell


Pontotoc District

Seat 4              Dr. Karen Goodnight, Goldsby – no challenger 


Pickens District

Seat 2              Connie Barker, Marietta - Incumbent

Seat 2              Michael Thomas Watson, Ardmore


Tishomingo District

Seat 3               Steven Woods, Davis – Incumbent  – no challenger


Supreme Court:

Seat 3              Cheri L. Bellefeuille-Gordon, Sulphur - Incumbent – no challenger

Last Updated: 09/16/2016